Release date: December 2019
Label & Number: Signum SIGCD632
Total time: 61.35 mins


Armonico Consort 

AC Academy Warwick and AC Academy Scholars

Toby Young | Keyboards

Christopher Monks | Musical Director

Timothy West | Narrator

Elin Manahan Thomas | Soloist

Anne Denholm | Harp

William Towers | Script

Jennifer Thorp | Libretto


Beowulf is one of the world’s greatest mythical tales. Discover a legendary time of heroes and warriors as Prince Beowulf battles demons and magical beasts, narrated by Special Guest Timothy West, stars of TV, Film and the West End. Alongside a gripping script from one of the authors of Have I Got News For You, this touching epic saga has been set to music by Armonico Consort’s composer-in-residence, Toby Young (former BBC Proms Young Composer of the Year).


1. Prologue
2. Celebration
3. ‘Hwaet! Listen’
4. Great Hall
5. Refrain
6. Interlude: The Fight
7. Grendel’s Bad Deeds
8. Sweet Song
9. Unferth’s Row
10. Refrain
11. Grendel-Beowulf Battle
12. When I Was King
13. Interlude: Triumph
14. Rousing Song
15. Refrain
16. Presentation of Hrunting
17. Grendel’s Mother
18. Rise Up
19. Hrothgar’s Sermon
20. Interlude: Searching
21. Chorus of Soldiers
22. Refrain
23. My Lord has Gone
24. Final Chorus

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!
WP Feedback

Dive straight into the feedback!
Login below and you can start commenting using your own user instantly