Supersize Polyphony

Release date: May 2019
Label & Number: Signum SIGCD560
Total time: 61 mins

Armonico Consort | Choir of Gonville & Caius College, Cambridge
Christopher Monks | Geoffrey Webber Musical Directors
Adrian France | bass sackbut*

Striggio Mass in 40 & 60 Parts
Tallis Spem in Alium

Supersize Polyphony is a celebration of large-scale choral works from the 16th century.  The unique programme features epic motets, such as Thomas Tallis’ Spem in Alium and Alessandro Striggio’s Ecce Beatam Lucem, alongside his rarely performed 60-part Missa Ecco Si Beato Giorno recorded here for the first time for voices alone.  Interspersed with the serene beauty of ethereal chants by Hildegard of Bingen, this recording presents works of magnitude and polyphonic drama in stellar performances by two of the UK’s leading choral ensembles.

“A total delight”

BBC Music magazine

The Armonico and Caius choirs give imposing performances of Striggio’s extraordinary Missa sopra Ecco si beato giorno

Sunday Times


1 Ecce Beatam Lucem à 40 (Striggio)*
2 Missa sopra Ecco Sì Beato Giorno: Kyrie (Striggio)*
3 Ave Generosa (Bingen)
4 Missa sopra Ecco Sì Beato Giorno: Gloria (Striggio)*
5 O Virtus Sapientiea (Bingen)
6 Missa sopra Ecco Sì Beato Giorno: Credo (Striggio)*
7 O Vos felices radices (Bingen)
8 Missa sopra Ecco Sì Beato Giorno: Sanctus (Striggio)*
9 Missa sopra Ecco Sì Beato Giorno: Benedictus (Striggio)*
10 Spiritus Sanctus Vivicans (Bingen)
11 Missa sopra Ecco Sì Beato Giorno: Agnus Dei (Striggio)*
12 O Nata Lux (Tallis)
13 Spem in Alium Plainchant (Tallis)
14 Spem in Alium (Tallis)

Buy online